Thursday, 23 May 2013

PDF Settings and Recreation of old PDFs

There is one thing that needs to be discussed here. We have option to allow admin to set PDF settings for document or a group. So now whenever a PDF is generated, those settings are used.

If we change the settings, they will be used in pdf generation next time. So old documents has PDFs with the old settings as PDFs were created before settings were changed.

So,  do we need to recreate the PDFs of old documents if PDF settings are changed? Two things that we need to decide between:

  1. If we are re-creating PDFs, we will have to generate PDFs for all documents to which this settings apply, so more processing (someone unnecessary also)
  2. If not, then we won't see pdfs with new settings until a new version is checked in or a new document is added.

1 comment:

  1. My thoughts:
    The default should be option 2, only change settings moving forward. However, a check-box to force a re-generation of all PDF's would be very useful in certain cases... For example, if the company name or logo changes, and you want to update all documents, or if you decide to add an expiry date to your docs etc. Plenty of other reasons to want to do a mass update of the pdf generation.